SC21RH-300x231The power of ASCA’s SC21 deployment model lies in its definition of the implementation goal. We have defined SC21 implementation goal as follows:

To strive to make our organisation a better company, every day, through the establishment and operation of a continuous improvement programme, based on the SC21 framework.

An organisation with a continuous improvement programme, based on SC21 framework, is an SC21 company and can become an SC21 signatory, if such a programme is registered with the SC21 project office at ADS (Aerospace, Defence and Security trade association).

SC21 Framework Explained

Sustainable Improvement

The cornerstone of SC21 framework is Sustainable Improvement, based on the PDCA Cycle.  PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act) – is a four-stage problem-solving model that enables organisations to continually improve processes, products or services.

SC21 Process Explained simplified

Continual improvement is regarded as sustainable if there is a two-way link between an organisation’s improvement plan and the set of key performance indicators (KPIs) used to measure the success of the organisation.

If sustainable improvement is seen as the cornerstone of an organisation’s drive for excellence, then focus on customer commitment is held up as its foundation.

Focus on customer commitment requires organisations to consistently deliver on their product and/or service supply commitments.


Focus on Customer Commitment

Whenever an organisation accepts and acknowledges a purchase order for a product and/or service from a customer, there is an implicit commitment to deliver the product and/or service, right first time and on time in full.

Focus on customer commitment requires an organisation to measure how well it is performing against such implicit commitment of On-Time-In-Full (OTIF) Delivery and Right-First-Time (RFT) Quality.

These two metrics – Delivery and Quality Performance, together, constitute a measure of the organisation’s focus on customer commitment.

These two metrics, when tracked on the basis of a 12-month rolling view, provide a measure of the organisation’s consistency of focus.

Improvement Frameworks

Beyond the cornerstone (sustainable improvement) and the foundation (focus on customer commitment) of an organisation’s drive for excellence, three complimentary frameworks have been recommended for identifying and executing improvement opportunities:

  • Manufacturing Excellence Framework (ManEx)
  • Business Excellence Framework (BusEx) and
  • Relationship Excellence Framework (RelEx)

SC21 Framework

The focus of ManEx is Effective Operations Management and is entirely concerned about the deployment of lean across the extended enterprise.

The focus of BusEx is Effective Business Management to achieve sterling results for all four categories of stakeholders – Customers, Shareholders, Employees and Society.  EFQM’s (European Foundation for Quality Management) Business Excellence Model has been chosen as Business Excellence Framework.

The focus of RelEx is Effective Collaborative Working with all four categories of business players – Customers, Suppliers, Internal Departments within the Organisation and Other External Partners and a lite version of ISO44001 (previously BS11000) has been created as the Relationship Excellence Framework.

SC21 Implementation – ASCA’s Innovative Deployment Model

ASCA’s recommendation is that becoming an SC21 organisation should be about establishing and operating a continuous improvement programme, based on the SC21 framework.

The absolute commitment of the organisation’s leadership team to excellence is a critical success factor for SC21 implementation.

ASCA’s deployment model, therefore, starts with a management commitment workshop, works through the four pillars of excellence and concludes with the publication of a signed-off continuous sustainable improvement plan.

ASCA's Innovative Deployment Model

Contact us here to find out how ASC Associates can help.